Iowa Training

First Children’s Finance understands that child care businesses are difficult to run and face many unique challenges. That’s why we offer practical, hands-on workshops and seminars that address the most critical business topics for family providers and child care centers.

Read Testimonials
Sign-up for our email list to receive FCF news, including training updates

 

Upcoming Iowa Workshops

Business and Financial Fundamentals for Center-Based Child Care
Business and Financial Fundamentals for Center-Based Child Care is a series of 8 modules designed to introduce, demystify and engage participants in the fundamental business practices you need to operate a quality sustainable child care center. Developed by First Children’s Finance with support from Northwest Area Foundation, this series is geared toward child care center and preschool directors, managers, owners and board members.

A certificate for training hours is provided at the end of each module for 1½ hours of Iowa DHS & National Administrator Credential (NAC) renewal credit, as appropriate. Upon completion of all 8 modules, participants will be provided a certificate of completion for Business and Financial Fundamentals.

Modules 1 through 4 are offered as a one-day workshop and must be taken first. Modules 5 through 8 will be offered as individual webinars and may be taken in any order.
 

One-Day Workshop (includes all 4 modules)
CM1 Child Care is Your Business-Plan for Success
CM2 Marketing and Enrollment
CM3 Financial Statements, Policies, and Procedures
CM4 Cash Flow

 

Individual Webinars
CM5 Annual Budget
CM6 Tuition and Revenue Strategies
CM7 Facilities and Equipment
CM 8 Leading, Directing, and Managing

 
Audience: Child care center directors, owners, and board members.

Credit Hours: Each module provides 1 ½ hours of Iowa DHS training credit and NAC renewal hours.

CM1 through CM4 Workshops (Must be completed before taking CM5 through CM8)
January 14, (Tuesday) 9:00 am-4:00 pm, Waterloo
January 29, (Wednesday) 9:00 am-4:00 pm, Spencer
January 30, (Thursday) 9:00 am-4:00 pm, Harlan
February 18, (Tuesday) 9:00 am-4:00 pm, Ottumwa
February 20, (Thursday) 9:00 am-4:00 pm, Iowa City

 
CM5 through CM8 Webinars (May be taken in any order)
March 3 (Tuesday), 1:00 pm-2:30 pm- CM5 Annual Budget
March 10 (Tuesday), 1:00 pm-2:30 pm- CM6 Tuition and Revenue Strategies
March 17 (Tuesday), 1:00 pm-2:30 pm- CM7 Facilities and Equipment
March 24 (Tuesday), 1:00 pm-2:30 pm- CM8 Leading, Directing, and Managing

April 2 (Thursday), 1:00 pm-2:30 pm- CM5 Annual Budget
April 9 (Thursday), 1:00 pm-2:30 pm- CM6 Tuition and Revenue Strategies
April 16 (Thursday), 1:00 pm-2:30 pm- CM7 Facilities and Equipment
April 23 (Thursday), 1:00 pm-2:30 pm- CM8 Leading, Directing, and Managin

April 27 (Monday), 1:00 pm-2:30 pm- CM5 Annual Budget
May 4 (Monday), 1:00 pm-2:30 pm- CM6 Tuition and Revenue Strategies
May 11 (Monday), 1:00 pm-2:30 pm- CM7 Facilities and Equipment
May 18 (Monday), 1:00 pm-2:30 pm- CM8 Leading, Directing, and Managing

 
Registration:
Register through the Iowa Child Care Provider Training Registry at: https://ccmis.dhs.state.ia.us/trainingregistry/

 

For more information, contact:

Kirk Leiffert, Business Development Specialist
KirkL@FirstChildrensFinance.org